who I am and why I’m here

Day One: Welcome to your first day of blogging!

Who am I?

To start, my name is Scott. I am retired living in Saint George, Utah. Saint George has been my home for the past 20 years. Previous to that I was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah. Over the years I’ve had several jobs but the one I claim as my career was with “The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control ” in Salt Lake City.

Why am I here?

I created my first internet presence over 20 years ago. I have had several domain names but the one I have used most is “sjn.us”. I am using this WordPress site to help me become a better post writer. I’m not very creative on the content side of things and need all the help I can get. After my years of having an internet presence I have learned that if I don’t update my site on a regular basis I will get no visitors or readers other than those who want to hack my website or spam my inbox.

For many years I used MS FrontPage to create my websites but that program became obsolete as the Windows operating system evolved. After searching and trying several website creation programs I eventually selected Artisteer as my site creation software. The problem with using Artisteer was that every time I made an update to my content the entire website had to be uploaded to my hosting company. I eventually discovered WordPress. WordPress allowed me to host my own site and use the themes I created using Artisteer to customize my site. Content could be easily managed using the WordPress.com website or desktop software.

 

 

Leave a Reply

